Upper Canada

From Bvio.com

Jump to: navigation, search
Upper Canada Village in Morrisburg, Ontario

Upper Canada is an early name for the land at the upstream end of the Saint Lawrence River in early North America – the territory south of Lake Nipissing and north of the St. Lawrence River and Lakes Ontario and Erie plus the eastern shoreline of Georgian Bay and the northern shoreline of Lake Superior. It became a political entity in 1791 with the passing of the Constitutional Act, which divided the Province of Quebec into Upper and Lower Canada. The division was effected so that loyalist American settlers in Upper Canada could have British laws and institutions.

This area is the ancestor of the southern part of the present day province of Ontario, Canada. See the Canadas and Canada West.

The Act Against Slavery passed in Upper Canada on July 9, 1793.

On February 1, 1796 the capital of Upper Canada was moved from Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake) to York (now Toronto).

During the War of 1812, following General Isaac Brock's capture of Detroit on August 16, 1812, the Michigan Territory was at least nominally a part of the Province of Upper Canada.

The province ceased to be a political entity in 1840, when it was merged with Lower Canada to form the Province of Canada. With Confederation in 1867, the area once again became a separate province, now named Ontario.

When the capital first moved to Toronto in 1796, the Parliament of Upper Canada was located at the corner of Parliament and Front Streets, in a building that was eventually abandoned. In 2001, the remains of the original Parliament building were found during preparations to build a car dealership on that site.

The major ethnic group which formed Ontario and Western Canada from this half of the Province of Quebec, like the United States, have descent from England, while Australia and New Zealand were chief repositories for those from Wales.de: Oberkanada [[sv:�vre Kanada]]

Personal tools